

# ILLINOIS POLICE OFFICERS' PENSION INVESTMENT FUND

# **MEMORANDUM**

TO: AUTHORIZED AGENTS FOR ARTICLE 3 POLICE PENSION FUNDS

**IPOPIF BOARD OF TRUSTEES** 

FROM: RICHARD WHITE, IPOPIF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

RE: 2024 BOARD OF TRUSTEE ELECTION – END OF FILING PERIOD UPDATE

DATE: AUGUST 1, 2024

This election for trustee seats was initiated by the Board of Trustees in accordance with the pension code and Fund policy at the June 14, 2024 meeting. The first step in the trustee election process is the nomination of candidates which opened on June 17, 2024 and closed on July 31, 2024.

To qualify as a candidate, the nominee is required to submit the required number of signatures – which varies according to the seat – on designated petition forms that, in addition to the required number of signatures, must include the petition circulator's name, original signature and notary public stamp and seal. The IPOPIF Executive Director is responsible for reviewing the petitions and to qualify the candidates.

All nominations submitted to the IPOPIF qualified for the trustee election, as follows:

# i. MUNICIPAL MEMBER TRUSTEE (2 SEATS)

- Michael J. Inman, Mayor of the City of Macomb [Incumbent]
- Debra Nawrocki, Chief Financial Officer, City of Elgin

# ii. BENEFICIARY MEMBER TRUSTEE (1 SEAT)

• Mark Poulos, Retired Lieutenant, City of Rock Island [Incumbent]

# iii. ACTIVE MEMBER TRUSTEE (1 SEAT)

• Scott Bowers, Police Officer, City of Peoria [Incumbent]

Subsequent to the qualification of candidates, the Election Policy provides for a period where the candidate petitions are available for review and a period where the nomination(s) can be challenged. Any challenges to the nomination process are due by 4:30 PM (Central Time) on August 8, 2024. Additional information will be provided after this date.